Richard White

explorations in place and time

Place and Time

Leave a comment

AB digital natives

Struggling towards nailing down a PhD question I am here:

PhD Practice-led research

The earliest recorded expressions of humanity are about presence and place. In a time of enhanced connectivity, physical mobility and apparent dislocation from the land how do we express presence in a place? How do these factors affect perceptions of place? This future facing research is grounded in participatory artwork using both highly localised/physical and networked global/virtual engagement to articulate presence and place.

I am engaged with walking artists and want to work collaboratively using accessible tools, creating transformative experiences. I am making art that is accessible to many and is socially useful. I want to develop my work articulating what it means to be alive at a particular place, seeking to express creatively an understanding of identity in relation to place and time. I am fascinated in the development of pervasive computing and locative media, especially in the way that it is challenging our sense of who we are and where we are in the world. My interest is not so much on the technology, more on the impact it is having as it becomes more ubiquitous. I am developing a practice creating enhanced interpretations of places, performing the landscape, generating a profound, shared, immersive experience of place.

I am supporting the spread of digital media literacy, enabling wider participation in social networks and engagement with social media. I am interested in the intergenerational, insider/outsider communication of knowledge and understanding about place and technology that this will generate. I enjoy the interplay of notions of liveness and presence and I believe that these are key elements in making the work distinctive, meaningful and engaging. I want to make work that tests and explores those experiences

Through my PhD I will develop participatory strategies for effective virtual and physical engagement in such storytelling/memory rich, outdoor celebratory/heritage contexts. I want to make work that addresses the live performative phase and look at how I can combine online networked elements with locative elements to create that profound experience of place.

Freedome on mydoorstepwider

“Eerie! Never walked, not a step, yet now transported alongside those walking”  message in Walking Wiltshire’s White Horses visitors book August 2013

Author: rswpost

Exploring connections between landscape, place and people. on foot and online. Working collaboratively and harnessing the participatory potential of social media.

Leave a Reply

